Intro to the 8 Key Competences


Lifelong learning has become a necessity for all citizens. We need to develop our skills and competences throughout our lives, not only for our personal fulfillment and our ability to actively engage with the society in which we live, but for our ability to be successful in a constantly changing world of work.

Ján Figel’ (Member of the European Commission responsible for Education, Training, Culture and Youth)


Competences are defined here as a combination of knowledge, skills and attitudes appropriate to the context. Key competences are those which all individuals need for personal fulfillment and development, active citizenship, social inclusion and employment.


The European Reference Framework (Dec 2006) sets out eight key competences:

  1. Communication in the mother tongue;

  2. Communication in foreign languages;
  3. Mathematical competence and basic competences in science and technology;
  4. Digital competence;

  5. Learning to learn;

  6. Social and civic competences;

  7. Sense of initiative and entrepreneurship;
  8. Cultural awareness and expression.


The key competences are all considered equally important, because each of them can contribute to a successful life in a knowledge society. Many of the competences overlap and interlock: aspects essential to one domain will support competence in another.







We wish you to enjoy and take the most advantage out of it!